WORSHIP

Weekly Sunday Services

Join us every Sunday for Worship in the Sanctuary

10:00 AM – Worship Service

10:15 AM – (Children’s Ministries) for grades PreK-5th

11:15 AM – Coffee Hour

5:00 PM – Eventide Service

Check out our new EVENTIDE service Sundays @ 5. It’s creative, casual, thought-provoking, intimate, and relevant for all ages. Come as you are!

At the heart of First Presbyterian Church is our worshiping congregation affirming the inclusive love of God, which is made known through Jesus Christ. That love makes a difference in our lives and challenges us to make a difference in the world. We lift our voices in prayer and praise, and music moves and inspires us at a level deeper than mere words alone.


Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, Wrestling and Receiving, from August 2, 2020, wrestling-and-receiving

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, What Is Your Kingdom Work, from July 26, 2020, what-is-your-kingdom-work

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, Groaning of Earth and Spirit, from July 19, 2020, groaning-of-earth-and-spirit

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, It’s Not Just the Seed. It’s the Soil, from July 12, 2020, good-soil

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, What are Sin and Evil? from July 5, 2020, what-are-sin-and-evil?

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Kathryn Kibbie Laird’s sermon, “Looking Backward, Looking Forward” from June 14, 2020, looking-backward-looking forward

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, “Connection with God” from June 7, 2020, connection-with-god

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, “Fear, Anxiety, Boldness, and Power,” from May 31, 2020fear-anxiety-boldness-and-power

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, All That May Be One, from May 24, 2020, all-that-may-be-one

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Kathryn Kibbie Laird’s sermon, What is a Christian? from May 17, 2020, what-is-a-Christian?

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, Moveable Feast from May 3, 2020, moveable-feast

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, What does it mean to live a resurrected life? from April 26, 2020, what-does-it-mean-to-live-a-resurrected-life?

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Kathryn Kibbie Laird’s sermon, Peace Be With You, from April 19, 2020, 4-19-20-peace-be-with-you

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, While It Was Still Night, from April 12, 2020, 4-12-20-while-it-was-still-night

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Kathryn Kibbie Laird’s sermon, The Palm Parade, from April 5, 2020, 4-5-20-the-palm-parade

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, “Jesus Weeps”, from March 29, 2020, 3-29-20-Jesus-weeps

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, “Why Do Terrible Things Happen?”, from March 22, 2020, 3-22-20-why-do-terrible-things-happen

Click here for the March 15, 2020 bulletin, 3-15-20-Third-Sunday-in-Lent

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, Being Born Again, from March 8, 2020, 3-08-20-being-born-again

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Kathryn Kibbie Laird’s sermon, What the Wilderness Can Teach Us, from March 1, 2020, 3-01-20-what-the-wilderness-can-teach-me

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, Hard Sayings of Jesus, from Feb 16, 2020, 2-16-20-hard-sayings-of-Jesus

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, Church Unity, from Jan 26, 2020, 1-26-20-church-unity

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, Strength To Love, from Jan 19, 2020, 1-19-20-strength-to-love

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, What Can We Do To Please God?, from Jan 12, 2020, 1-12-20-what-can-we-do-to-please-god

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, Light and Word, from Jan 5, 2020, 1-05-20-light-and-word

Click here for a transcript of the Rev. Carol Howard Merritt’s sermon, God With Us, from Dec 22, 2019, 12-22-19-god-with-us

Holy Days & Special Services

Advent & Christmas Worship and Events

December 1, 10 am – The First Sunday in Advent

December 8, 10 am – The Second Sunday in Advent

December 15, 10 am – The Third Sunday in Advent

December 22, 10 am  – The Fourth Sunday in Advent

Eventide Service, 5 p.m.

Christmas Eve Services

Children’s Pageant, 5 p.m.

Holy Communion Service, 10 p.m.

December 29, 10 a.m. 

Family Service in the Common Room, 10 a.m.

Eventide Service, 5 p.m.

Worship in Lent

Ash Wednesday Worship Service: February 26, 2020 at 7:30 p.m.

We will enter into the holy season of Lent through worship, including the Imposition of Ashes and the Sacrament of the Lord’s Supper. First Presbyterian Choir singing.

Sunday, March 1, 10 a.m. – The First Sunday in Lent

5 p.m. Eventide Service.

Sunday, March 8, 10 a.m. – The Second Sunday in Lent

5 pm Eventide Service

Sunday, March 15, 10 a.m. – The Third Sunday in Lent

5 pm Eventide Service

Sunday, March 22, 10 a.m. – The Fourth Sunday in Lent

5 pm Eventide Service

Sunday, March 29, 10 a.m. – The Fifth Sunday in Lent

5 pm Eventide Service

Holy Week Services

Palm/Passion Sunday – April 5

9:15 a.m. Ecumenical Blessing of the Palms at God’s Acre

10 a.m. Worship Service at FPC

Special Music Presentation

Palm Sunday–Children’s procession with palms—Sunday’s Cool will study Jesus’ triumphal ride into Jerusalem then head to a very special Christian craft fair to explore the meaning of Holy Week.  Immediately following worship, parents are encouraged to bring their kids for the Eggstravaganza Egg Hunt which will be held outside by age group. Please bring a basket for hunting and a camera.

5 p.m. Eventide Service

Maundy Thursday – April 8, 7 p.m. The Sacrament of the Lord’s Supper

First Presbyterian Church Choir

Easter Sunday – April 12

10 a.m. Service with Holy Communion

Scottish Heritage Service

May 3, 2020 at 10 a.m.
Celebrate our Scottish origins at the largest and best attended event of its kind in the Northeast.  The service includes sacred texts and songs, the pageantry of a full pipe and drum band, the Kirkin o the Tartans, and honored guests representing various Scottish clans and societies. After the service stay for the ceilidh, a Scottish happening, which includes Songs of Scotland, the Mt. Kisco Pipes and Drums, traditional dancers, and delicious homemade shortbread.

Special Church

Thursdays from 3:30 – 5:00PM 
Bliss House Common Room
Special Church is a program for adults and teenagers with Special Needs.  The group gathers for fellowship and spiritual.  We begin with fellowship time as we all gather and share news of our week’s activities.  We then work on a craft project which is often linked to the church calendar, and of course music is a very important part of Special Church.

For more information on Special Church, contact Tina in the Church Office at 203.966.0002 (ext. 1).